Vanessa’s Law

In memory of Vanessa Weiss, who was killed just days before her 16th birthday in May 2003, “Vanessa’s Law” passed a year later. She was a passenger in a vehicle driven by an unlicensed 15-year-old.

Under “Vanessa’s Law,” if your provisional license is revoked because of an impaired driving crime or crash-related moving violation, you lose your license until you are at least 18. If you commit these crimes as an unlicensed driver, you can’t apply for a permit until you are 18.

Provisions of this law:
An unlicensed teen who receives a crash-related moving violation or an alcohol/controlled substance-related violation (a violation of one or more statutes, including DWI, Implied Consent, Open Bottle, or Underage Drinking and Driving/Not a Drop Law) will not be given a license, including an instruction permit or provisional license, until age 18.

After turning 18, s/he must meet the reinstatement requirement(s) listed on the withdrawal notice(s), pass the written knowledge test for a class D driver’s license, and then make application for a Minnesota instruction permit. Once valid, the person must hold this instruction permit for at least six (6) months before taking the road test (or at least three months if age 19 or older).

At that time, the person must complete these steps to obtain a full driver’s license:
Comply with all requirements for reinstatement listed on the withdrawal notice. In most cases, this will be:

  • Serving the withdrawal period
  • Passing DWI knowledge test
  • Paying $680 reinstatement fee
  • Applying for a Minnesota driver’s license
  • Complete a 30-hour classroom driver education course (an online computer course is unacceptable)
  • Apply for a Minnesota instruction permit (in addition to the driver’s license, as above)
  • Once reinstated, hold the instruction permit for three months;
  • During this three-month period, complete 6 hours of a behind-the-wheel driver education program

If you have questions about Vanessa’s Law, call 651-296-2025.