- No categories
Adult Behind the Wheel
Adults (persons over 18 years of age) wishing to take behind the wheel must have an instruction permit. Adults are not required to take behind the wheel so they may take 1 or up to 10 hours of behind the wheel as needed. Behind the wheel lessons will usually be 1 student to 1 instructor. Occasionally there may be other students or instructors in the car for your lesson. Adult students may purchase behind the wheel instruction hours at $45 per hour of behind the wheel.
Road Test Vehicle Rental
Provided the student has taken behind the wheel with Range Driver Training, the students/parent may arrange to use one of our vehicles for a road test for $50. If this is something you are seriously considering we recommend that you talk to your behind the wheel instructor to make arrangements.
55 and Older 8-Hour Defensive Driving Course
The 8-hour Defensive Driving Course class qualify participants 55 and older to receive a reduction in their automobile insurance. As required by state law, the class is divided into two, 4-hour sessions. We offer courses at our location in Eveleth, but would be happy to arrangements to offer this course at your location. We are available for day and evening courses. Our Defensive Driving Course is approved by the Minnesota Commissioner of Public Safety and meets all requirements of Minnesota Statutes, Section 65B.28 for an appropriate automobile insurance reduction. Range Driver Training provides all materials for the course.
55 and Older 4-Hour Defensive Driving Refresher Course
The 4-hour Defensive Driving Course Refresher qualify participants to retain eligibility for their insurance reduction. This class is for those persons who have already taken the 8-hour Defensive Driving Course. This course must be taken every 3 years to remain eligible for an insurance reduction. We offer courses at our location in Eveleth, but would be happy to arrangements to offer this course at your location. We are available for day and evening courses. Our 4-Hour Refresher Defensive Driving Course is approved by the Minnesota Commissioner of Public Safety and meets all requirements of Minnesota Statutes, Section 65B.28 for retaining your automobile insurance reduction. Range Driver Training provides all materials for the course.
Distance learning and Covid-19 Statement
DPS has informed us that the variance for distance learning will continue.
We currently have a class scheduled for Nov 23rd. Our next classes will be online classes in Late Feb. or March unless the state revokes the waiver allowing for online training.
Behind The Wheel:
COVID: We have put numerous precautions in place while doing our behind the wheel lessons. The student and instructor must wear masks. We have installed a barrier between the student and instructor. We disinfect the vehicle between students. We only run outside air while teaching. We eliminated any physical contact exchanging paperwork or payments.
**We are giving priority to students who have a road test scheduled.** If you do not have a test scheduled yet we will call you in the same order (passed permit notification list) we used previously.
**New** The Virginia exam station is now open for Road Tests. You must make your appointment online and wait outside the door when you arrive.
All road tests are scheduled ONLINE. You cannot call to schedule a test. Go online to:
dvs.dps.mn.gov to schedule a test.
Thank You for your patience.
Mike and Mary Madden